Department of Botany

The Department of Botany came into being in the year 1963 with commencement of Pre-University classes under Gauhati University with Miss K. Dutta managing the department as a part-time teacher. She along with Shri R. Bhattacharjee as demonstrator managed it till July, 1964 when Shri Umesh Chandra Kakati joined the department as the first full time lecturer in July 1964. Shri Kakati nurtured the department and developed it to make it ready for degree classes and then to start the Honours courses along with Smt. Anjali Dutta who joined in 1965. Shri Kakati retired in 2001 as the Vice-Principal of the College while Smt. Dutta in the late nineties. Dr. (Mrs.) Ayesha Ashraf Ahmed who taught in the College for nearly twenty years since 1985, has recently resigned from the services due to personal reasons.

At present, the department has regular teachers with varying length of service and experience and they are:

Sl. No


Educational Qualification

Working since

Contact No



Shri Swapan Kr. Roy (Head)

M.Sc. (Bot.) (L.N. Mithila Univ.)




Smt. Darina Kharshandi

M, Sc. (NEHU)




Smt. M. V. T. Marwein

M, Sc. (NEHU)




Smt. D. Lyngdoh





Dr. (Smt.) Aroma Lyngdoh

M, Sc. (NEHU), NET, Ph.D. (NEHU)



The department has a well-equipped laboratory with all necessary facilities for degree courses (Pass and Honours) and has a library with good collection of books and literature. Shri Donkupar R. Kharmujai, Laboratory Assistant,is the sincere personality in the department who helps in maintaining the laboratory up to the mark. To groom up the students to face today’s competitive world, the department has started a club called “Botanic Club” since 3rd of December, 2003. Botanic Club organises students’ seminar and discussions from time to time in addition to bringing out a magazine called ‘Botane’ with articles mainly from the student members of the department.