Department of Mathematics

Mathematics department of the Shillong College came into existence at the time of inception of the college in 1956 with the founder Principal (Late) Shri Sudhindra Ch. Datta, an eminent mathematician and author of popular book on Mathematics, managing affairs of the department in addition to his administrative work along with some part-time teachers like Shri Prithwis Dutta, Shri A. Chakraborty and others. Shri Bankim Chandra Goswami joined the department on 29th March 1963 and then Shri Kalyan Kr. Choudhury on 15th July 1965 to be followed by Smt. Subhra Dhar in 1969. Dr. Hrishikesh Dhar joined in 1972 and the group of four teachers managed the department for several years till Dr. Bipul Shyam Purkayastha joined the Department in 1987. But he soon left the job to join an assignment in Assam University, Silchar and in his place Shri Dikes Shadap joined the department on 9th November 2000. Some other teachers also joined in the intervening period but left but their own career advancement and hence the department had to take the help of part-time teachers for many years. Shri Bankim Chandra Goswami retired from services in 2001 (as Vice-Principal) and in his place Shri Mardor Wanri Synrem joined the department on 1st September 2003. Shri K.K. Chaudhury retired from his long service in 2003 and in his place Shri Spainborlang Kharchandy joined the department on 1st September 2003, also Smt. S. Dhar retired in 2005 and in her place Shri Boringstill Diengdoh joined the department in 2005 but soon left the post to assume new assignment as Lecturer in District Institute of Educational Training (D.I.E.T.),Govt of Meghalaya, and finally Dr. H. Dhar retired from service in 1st April, 2009. However Smt. J. Rivulet Gidon joined the department on 1st July 2008 in place of Shri Boringstill Diengdoh. On 18th June 2009, Shri Borometer Nongbri has Joined our department in place of Former Head Of Department Dr. H. Dhar on 17th June,2009. The Department of Mathematics is proud to keep in record that Dr.H.Dhar who has retired from services in our college in 31st March 2009 has resume another assignment as a Professor and Head of Department at The B.C.Roy Engineering College, Durgapur, West Bengal from May 2009.

Honours Course in Mathematics were started in the year 1966. The number of students admitted to the course is very encouraging and the result was also very outstanding. The department is also associated with the Commerce, Arts Stream and also assisting the Professional Course like Bachelor of Computer Application.

List of Faculty:

Sl. No


Educational Qualification

Working since

Contact No



Shri D. Shadap (Head)

M.Sc. (NEHU)

M.Phil.(Periyar Univ.)




Shri M. W. Synrem

M.Sc. (NEHU) M.Phil.(Madurai Kamraj)




Shri S. Kharchandy

M.Sc. (NEHU)




Smt. J. Rivulet Gidon

M.Sc. (NEHU) M.Phil.(NEHU)




Shri Barometer Nongbri

M.Sc. (NEHU)



A number of Workshop and Seminar were also organised by the Department and the recent past being a Five days Workshop on “Training of Teachers on content Cum Methodology to Teach Mathematics at Higher Secondary Level in North Eastern India Region” in Collaboration with National Council for Educational and Research Training (NCERT) , Shillong. Mathematics Teachers of Higher Secondary Level from various states of North East participated/ attended the workshop where renowned Resource Person from Delhi, West Bengal, Assam, North Eastern Hills University (NEHU), (Shillong) and National Council for Educational and Research Training (NCERT) , (Shillong) came and delivered lectures and imparted training at the programme. Some faculty members attended the 96th Indian Science Congress Association held at North Eastern Hills University (NEHU), Shillong in 2009 as Delegates. A delegation of students were also sent to participate in the workshop “Beauty of Mathematics “ at St. Edmunds College organised by Mathematics Department of North Eastern Hills University (NEHU), Shillong in 2008.

The overall performance of students in the Department is satisfactory although only few students take Mathematics as Hounors and sincere effort are being made to upgrade the standard of performance to higher level. In the past there were some outstanding results in examination conducted by North Eastern Hills University (NEHU),Shillong , in recent times Shri Sainkupar Mawiong earned the 1st Class 1st Position in B.Sc. Maths Hons in 2002, Shri Barometer Nongbri earned the 1st Class 1st position in B.A. Maths Hons in 2007 and Shri Ebor Niang earned the 1st Class in B.Sc. Maths Hons in 2008.The department has been invited from time to time by Educational Agencies viz. NCERT (NERIE),Shillong, NEHU and other colleges for various academic programmes. The Department of mathematics were also invited for many lectures related to educational and Social activities. The recent ones being the series of lectures on ICT organized by NCERT (NERIE), Shillong in connection with Silver Jubilee Year celebration of the CIET(NCERT),New Delhi held at CTE, Shillong on 5th June 2009
With the sincere efforts and cooperation of every faculty member, the department hopes that it will be able to answer and meet the aspirations of every student of the college in particular and the society in general.