Department of Physics

Department of Physics was established in the year 1963 under the guidance and inspiration of the founder Principal (Late) Shri Sudhindra Chandra Dutta to cater to the needs of the students willing to pursue collegiate education in the science stream. Shri B. Goswami served the department at the beginning as part-time teacher. Shri Abdul Matin was appointed as a full time lecturer on 4.8.1964 to man the department when one year P.U. course under the Gauhati University was in force, but he left the college in 1964. Dr. P. Bhattacharjee, part-time teacher, and Shri S.R. Paul (Demonstrator) then looked after the department but Shri Paul left the job soon. In the later part of 1964, Shri Rajat Kanti Das joined as demonstrator (retired in 2005) and then Shri Ranjit Kumar Dutta joined as lecturer who remained the Head of the Department till his retirement (as Vice-Principal of the College) in 2003. Dr. Udayan Ghosh joined in 1966 (retired in 2003) and Shri Durbadal Mukherjee joined in 1969 as full time lecturers. B. Sc. (Honours) in Physics was started in 1989.Smt. Elarina Noris Dkhar joined the department as lecturer in 1994.

List of Faculty:

Sl. No


Educational Qualification

Working since

Contact No



Smt. E. N. Dkhar (Head)

M. Sc. (NEHU)




Shri Snarmon Lato

M. Sc. (NEHU)




Shri Mebanjopson Rynjah

M. Sc. (NEHU)




Shri Aiborlang Dkhar

M. Sc. (NEHU)




Shri Longkhraw Khongiang

M. Sc. (NEHU)



The academic performance of the department had been more than encouraging and the department had produced quite a good number of first class (honours) graduates over the span of last 15 years and it achieved the height with Shri Regenelson Kharwanlang securing 1st class 1st position in 1999. The arrangements and maintenance of laboratory equipments are supervised by the members of the teaching faculty of the department with sincere assistance from the Laboratory Bearer Shri Kumar Rai who is working in the department since 1995 after the retirement of Shri Padamlal Sharma. Recently, the department has organised the celebration of the “International Year of Physics-2005” on 4th October 2005, as a part of the Golden Jubilee Celebration of the College, under the Chairmanship of Shri D. Mukherjee, and a Seminar on “Radiation and Harnessing Radioactivity” was organised on the occasion.The seminar was sponsored by UCIL, Government of India, Atomic Mineral Division, Government of India, SCSTE, Meghalaya and DHTE, Meghalaya