Department of Zoology

Shri H. Banerjee started taking Zoology classes on 22-07-1963 as a part-time teacher but left in August in the same when Shri Dhiresh Chandra Dhar of St. Edmund’s College continued with the job to be followed by Shri Monoranjan Burman of Lady Keane College till Shri (Late) Kamalaksha Dutta joined as first full time lecturer on 1st October 1964 and also Shri J. J. Rao as demonstrator. Shri Dutta continued to serve as Head of the Department till his retirement but Shri Rao left the job in 1965. Shri Parimal Chakraborty (1966-72), Dr. Pranab Mukherjee (1966-68), Shri Jahnabi Kr. Chattaraj (1968-72) served the department with all odds but soon left with better opportunities. Dr. Samarendra Nath Dutta joined in 1969 and retired in 2003 as the Head of the Department. Meanwhile, many teachers served the college as part-time teacher also.Smt. Rekha Devi joined in early seventies and then Dr. Malay Dey in July,1985. Smt. Suparna Choudhury joined as demonstrator in seventies and still engaged in managing the higher secondary practical classes. Smt. D. N. Shabong joined during nineties to be followed by Smt. Jennifer Lyngdoh.Smt. Lyngdoh left the job in 2005 to be replaced by Smt. E. M. Pala.

List of Faculty:

Sl. No


Educational Qualification

Working since

Contact No



Dr. Malay Dey (Head)

M. Sc.(NEHU)

Ph. D.(NEHU)




Smt. D. N. Shabong

M. Sc.(NEHU)




Dr. (Smt.) E. M. Pala

M. Sc.(NEHU) Ph.D (GU)




Dr. (Smt.) Lucy Mary Jyrwa

M. Sc.(NEHU)

Ph. D.(NEHU)




Dr. Shanwell Khongwir

M. Sc.(NEHU)

Ph. D.(NEHU)




The laboratory of the department is well equipped with lot of collections of species and suitable infrastructure and Shri Ethelbert Pyrtuh, the laboratory attendant taking care of the every material most meticulously.Over the years since its inception, the department has produced some excellent results and the few to be remembered include: Dr. Malay Dey (presently lecturer in the College) ranking 1st Class 1st in Zoology Honours in 1981 and Shri F. A. Lamare (presently lecturer in St. Anthony’s College) and Smt. Anamika Gupta repeating the same feat in 1991 and 1994 respectively. Likewise the students in Zoology have the credit of bringing high percentage of distinctive examination results in various levels from higher secondary up to the degree standard. The teachers of Zoology department have credit of as many as four Science projects conducted with the cooperation and active participation of the students and financed by the State unit of the Department of Science and Technology. Former Head of the Department,Shri (Late) K. Datta, conducted a research project entitled “A, B, O.Blood Group in Khasi and Jaintia People in Meghalaya” in spite of the limited facilities available. Smt. R. Devi, Dr. S. N. Datta and Dr. M.Dey successfully completed three different research projects in the department,entitled: “Chromosome Analysis and Distribution of Some Spiders of Meghalaya”,“Study of Role of Mitotic Activity in the Early Chick Embryo (Local Breed of Meghalaya)”, and “Electrophoretic Survey of L.D.H. Banding Pattern in the Frog Species of the Genus Rana from Khasi Hills, Meghalaya”.

Students of the Department have started a student activity club, ‘The Zoonic Circle’ from the current year (2006) under the guidance of the faculty members. The aim and objective of the club is to involve all the students in various academic activities like seminars, scientific workshop, etc, and also other supporting social and cultural activities of the college.