Department of Philosophy

The Department of Philosophy started with pass course since the inception of the college in the year 1956. The honours courses in Philosophy in the College started in mid sixties. Shri Satyen Kar, a pioneer in establishment of the College, was the first teacher in the department. “A small young man with a great personality” served the department as one of the founder teachers with utmost care and dedication. Shri Bidit Das joined the College and helped the department profusely in its formative years along with Late Shri Haran Chandra Bhattacharjee (a student of Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, former President of India), an employee in the erstwhile NEFA and Shri Amal Kr. Sen. Shri Biraj Bhusan Dutta, Dr. Subir Bijoy Sen Gupta and Shri Ranjit Kumar Deb served the department effectively for long years. Shri Dutta retired in 1985 as the Head of the Department and sadly, expired last year (October 2005). In 1983, Dr. S. B. Sengupta was transferred to the Department of English. Shri R. K. Deb was a popular Tabla player of Shillong besides an effective teacher of Philosophy and Education and he retired on 31st July, 2000 as Head of the Department.

List of Faculty:

Sl. No


Educational Qualification

Working since

Contact No



Dr. (Smt.) J. Biswas (Head)

M.A. (NEHU) Ph.D. (NEHU)




Dr. B. P. Tripathi

M.A. (NEHU) Ph.D. (NEHU)




Smt. K. Lartang





Smt. Extra Kurkalang





All the teachers in the department have proficiency in research activities and have a number of publications (research papers, articles and guide books) to their credit while Dr. Biswas is a gifted classical singer. Teachers-students interaction in the department is very intimate, and consequently the performances of the students in the various examinations of Board and University are consistently good.