For any queries related to Registration or issues for login kindly whatsapp on this Contact No x

WhatsApp Number


For Admission x
College WebMail x



Shillong College is one amongst the four Colleges in the region to have formally started National Service Scheme (NSS) as early as in 1974. It started with an Orientation Programme held in the same year in St.Edmund’s College that was followed by holding of the first special camp in Laitumkhrah in February 1974 by the NSS, Unit Shillong College. Shri Bikash Roy of Commerce Department was the first Programme Officer of NSS, Shillong College while (Late) Shri P.Deb of Chemistry Department, Shri Dipu Mukhopadhyay of History Department and (Late) Shri A.K.Gurung rendered valuable assistance. During late eighties Shri T.S. Rajee and Shri A,Khandhuri continued the work as Programme Officers. Since 1996, Dr K.D. Ramsiej from the Department of Philosophy and Dr. H.Iangrai of Education Department took over as Programme Officers and have been providing commendable services. It may be mentioned that Dr K.D Ramsiej, Principal of the College was also a former Programme Officer of the unit till he was appointed as Principal of the College in 2012. Dr. H. Iangrai, Programme officer of Shillong College was conferred with the NSS Award at the University level on 18 July 2008. On account of his outstanding service as NSS Programme Officer, he was appointed as State Liaison Officer by the Government of Meghalaya in June 2010.  At present Shri M.W.Synrem, Dr. (Mrs) S. Khyriemmujat, Smt. A.Marbaniang, Shri S.Kharrymba, Shri E.Niang and Smt S.P.M.Kharbih  are program officers and have been providing commendable services. The NSS Unit of the college has six adopted villages at present and they are Smit Village, laitkseh Village, Nongpathaw Village, Nongmadan Village, Nongtyngur Village and Umroh(Mawkasiang) Village. Apart from the Special Camping programmes, are the regular activities are conducted in these adopted villages which include right from Health Care and sanitation programs to Environmental protection and Water Conservation programmes.

            The National Service Scheme was introduced in this College as a part of the higher education system in order to promote youth participation in developmental affairs as well as to provide creative outlets to the abundant youth energy and potential. At present the Shillong College Unit has an enrollment strength of 1,780 volunteers both of the Higher Secondary Section and Degree level.


National Service Scheme-Motto and Aims:

The National Service Scheme was formally launched in India on September 24th, 1969 by the then Union Education Minister Dr. V.K.R.V Rao. Started initially in 37 universities involving 40,000 volunteers, the scheme has grown over the years and it is implemented today with an involvement of more than 3.2 million volunteers spread over 200 Universities, Polytechnics and +2 Systems. The efforts of NSS volunteers has been widely acclaimed by the community, universities, colleges and general public as the NSS volunteers have been rendering selfless service to the community.


           The Motto of NSS "Not Me but You” reflects the essence of democratic living and upholds the need for self-less service. NSS helps the students develop appreciation about the other person's point of view and show consideration to other living beings. The philosophy of the NSS is well displayed by this motto, which underlines on the belief that the welfare of an individual is ultimately dependent on the welfare of the society and therefore, the NSS volunteers shall strive for the well-being of the society.


        The focal objectives of the scheme are 'Development of the personality of students through community service'. This objective is sought to be achieved by enabling the students to:

  • Understand the community in which they work.
  • Understand themselves in relation to their community.
  • Identify the needs and problems in the community in the solution of which they can be involved.
  • Develop among them a sense of social and civic responsibility.
  • Apply their education in finding practical solutions to individual and Community problems.
  • Develop competence required for group living and sharing responsibilities.
  • Gain skills in mobilizing community participation.
  • Acquire leadership qualities and democratic attitude.
  • Develop capacity to meet emergencies and natural disasters and Practice National Integration
NSSShillongCollege Twitter Acount

Present Programme Officers:

  1. Shri M. W. Synrem, Assisstant Professor, Department of Mathematics.
  2. Dr. (Mrs) S. Khyriemmujat, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology.
  3. Smt. A. Marbaniang, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science.
  4. Shri S. Kharymmba, Assistant Professor, Department of Khasi.
  5. Dr H.Iangrai (Who had been deputed as State Liasion Officer for the State for the Last five years w.e.f 2011-2015), Associate Professor, Department of Education.
  6. Shri. E.Niang- Programme Officer (Higher Secondary Section), Lecturer, Department of Mathematics.
  7. Miss S.P.M.Kharbhih- Programme Officer (Higher Secondary Section),Lecturer, Department of Sociology.

Members of the College NSS Advisory Committee:

  1. Dr.(Mrs)E Kharkongor, Principal, Shillong College
  2. Shri  B. Syi.em,Vice Principal
  3. M.W.Synrem-Programme Officer
  4. Dr.(Mrs.)S.Khyriemmujat- Programme Officer
  5. Prof A.Marbaniang- Programme Officer
  6. Prof S.Kharymba- Programme Officer
  7. Dr H. Iangrai- Programme Officer
  8. E.Niang- Programme Officer
  9. Miss S.P.M.Kharbhih-Programme Officer(Higher Secondary Section)
  10. V.R.Solomon-Member(Department of Political Science)
  11. D.M.Syiem-Member(Department of Statistics)
  12. Tara Prasad Upadhya-Member(IGNSS Awardee)
  13. Shaisngi Lyngdoh-Member(IGSS Awardee)
  14. Miss Palvy Dora Kharkongor-Member(ICGSS Awardee)
  15. Mr Arisson T Marboh -Member(SCSU General Secretary)
  16. Miss Hiambok Temsen-Member(Student Volunteer)
  17. Mr Pyndemlang Lyting-Member(Student Volunteer)
  18. Headman of the Adopted Villages