For any queries related to Registration or issues for login kindly whatsapp on this Contact No x

WhatsApp Number


Examination Related You can call x
College WebMail x


All Departments

The Department of Botany came into being in the year 1963 with commencement of Pre-University classes under Gauhati University with Miss K. Dutta managing the department as a part-time teacher. She along with Shri R. Bhattacharjee as demonstrator managed it till July, 1964 when Shri Umesh Chandra Kakati joined the department as the first full time lecturer in July 1964. Shri Kakati nurtured the department and developed it to make it ready for degree classes and then to start the Honours courses along with Smt. Anjali Dutta who joined in 1965. Shri Kakati retired in 2001 as the Vice-Principal of the College while Smt. Dutta in the late nineties. Dr. (Mrs.) Ayesha Ashraf Ahmed who taught in the College for nearly twenty years since 1985, resigned from the services in 2006 due to personal reasons. After the retirement of Shri. Kakati, Smti. R. Sarkar then took over as head of the department till her retirement in 2008. Thereafter the department was headed by Shri. S. K. Roy who retired recently in January 2020. At present Smti. D. Kharshandi is the head of the department. The department in collaboration with IQAC and others have organized popular talks, seminars, workshop cum training programmes from time to time where students have actively participated and benefitted from these programmes.
NameEducational Qualification

Working since


Smt. Darina Kharshandi (Head)

M, Sc.

[email protected]
Smt. Miriam V. T. Marwein
M, Sc. , NET


[email protected]
Smt. Dalari Lyngdoh

M, Sc., NET


[email protected]
Dr. (Smt.) Aroma Lyngdoh

M, Sc. , NET, Ph.D. 01-07-2008[email protected]
Smt. Daphilakmen KharmonM.Sc.

01-06-2013[email protected]
[sg_popup id="3" event="click"]BSC BOTANY[/sg_popup]