For any queries related to Registration or issues for login kindly whatsapp on this Contact No x

WhatsApp Number


For Admission x
College WebMail x


All Departments

Mathematics department of the Shillong College came into existence at the time of inception of the college on 15th August 1956 with the founder Principal (Late) Shri Sudhindra Ch. Datta, an eminent mathematician managed affairs of the department till 31st August 1970 in addition to his administrative work along with some part-time teachers like Shri Prithwis Dutta, Shri A. Chakraborty and others. Shri Bankim Chandra Goswami joined the department on 29th March 1963 and then Shri Kalyan Kr. Choudhury on 15th July 1965 to be followed by Smt. Suvra Dhar on 16th July 1969. Dr. Hrishikesh Dhar joined on 1st September 1973 and the group of four teachers managed the department for several years till Dr. Bipul Shyam Purkayastha joined the Department on 5th August 1987, but he soon left the job on 18th August 1997 to join an assignment at Assam University, Silchar and in his place, Shri Dikes Shadap joined the department on 9th November 2000. Some other teachers also joined in the intervening period but left for their career advancement and hence the department had to take the help of part-time teachers for many years. Shri Bankim Chandra Goswami retired from services on 28th February 2001 (as Vice-Principal) and in his place, Shri Mardor Wanri Synrem joined the department on 1st September 2003. Shri K.K. Chaudhury retired from his long service on 31st August 2003 and in his place, Shri Spainborlang Kharchandy joined the department on 1st September 2003, also Smt. S. Dhar retired on 31st December 2005 and in her place, Shri Boringstill Diengdoh joined the department on 1st July 2006 but soon left the post on 2008 to assume a new assignment as Lecturer in District Institute of Educational Training (D.I.E.T.), Govt of Meghalaya, However Smt. J. Rivulet Gidon joined the department on 1st July 2008 in place of Shri Boringstill Diengdoh. Later Dr. H. Dhar retired from service on 1st April 2009. On 18th June 2009, Shri Barometer Nongbri joined the mathematics department in place of Dr. H. Dhar on 17th June 2009. The Department of Mathematics is proud to keep in a record that Dr. H. Dhar who retired from services on 31st March 2009 join another assignment as a professor and head of a department at the B.C.Roy Engineering College, Durgapur, West Bengal from May 2009. On 1st April 2009, Shri Dikes Shadap took over as head of the Department.

Honours Course in Mathematics was started in the year 1966. The department is also associated with the Commerce, and Arts Stream and also assists the professional course like Bachelor of Computer Application. The department has been invited from time to time by educational agencies and other colleges for various academic programs. The department of mathematics was also invited to many lectures related to educational and social activities.

Some academicians who served the department either as part-time teachers:

Sl.NoNamePeriod of service(approx.)
1Shri Prithwis Ch. Dutta1961 - 1969
2Shri A. Chakraborty1961 - 1967
3Shri Arun K.Biswas1968
4Shri Shibo Prasanna Bhattacharjee1983
5Shri Sibnath Bose1985
6Shri B.J.Reddy1985
7Shri Ajit Mishra1985
8Smt. Sonali Sen Gupta
1998 - 2000
9Smt Anindita Bhowal1997
10Smt Sanchali Ghosh8-7-1985 to 31-12-1985
11Smt. Nivedita Roy Chowdhury20-7-1985 to 30-11-1985
13Shri. C.Kharsyntiew
14Shri. Virgilius Nongbri2001
15Shri. Krishna Das9-7-1985 to 31-12-1985
16Shri. Marshall Kharumnuid2018-2020
17Shri Arun K.Bhattacharya
September 1961
NameEducational Qualification

Working since


Shri D. Shadap

M.Sc. ,M.Phil

[email protected]
Shri M. W. Synrem

M.Sc. ,M.Phil

[email protected]

Shri S. Kharchandy

M, Sc.


[email protected]
Smt. J. Rivulet Gidon

M.Sc. ,M.Phil.


[email protected]
Shri Barometer Nongbri

M.Sc. ,NET
[email protected]
Shri Donboklang WarbahM.Sc03-08-2022 (Part Time)[email protected]
BSc Mathematics