For any queries related to Registration or issues for login kindly whatsapp on this Contact No x

WhatsApp Number


For Admission x
College WebMail x


All Departments

The Department of Physics was established in the year 1963 under the guidance and inspiration of the founder Principal (Late) Shri S.C.Dutta, to cater to the needs of the students willing to pursue collegiate education in the science stream.

Shri Abdul Martin was appointed as full time lecturer in 1963 to operate the department in the initial stage when one year P.U (Sc.) course under Gauhati University was introduced. He left the college in 1964 and then two part time lecturers looked after the department. In the same year,the first batch of students in B.Sc. (1st year) of the 3 year degree course were admitted. In the later part of 1964, Shri R.K.Das joined as a demonstrator to look after the P.U. practical classes. When the then H.O.D. Shri R.K.Dutta joined in 1965, there were two part time lecturers and one demonstrator and the classes were P.U. Sc(1yr), 1st and 2nd year B.Sc.(pass) of three year degree course. Dr.U.Ghosh joined the department in 1966 and Shri D.Mukherjee joined in 1969 as full time lecturers. Subsequently, 2 yr P.U (Sc.) course followed by a 2 yr degree (pass) course was introduced under North Eastern Hill University (N.E.H.U.) in 1974. Later on 2 yr B.Sc. (pass) course followed by 1 yr B.Sc. (Hons.) course was introduced in 1989 and the first batch of students in B.Sc. (Hons.) appeared from our college in 1990. In 1994, Smt. E.N.Dkhar joined the department as a full time lecturer and since then the department had been running with four full time lecturers and one demonstrator (in the lecturer scale). In 2001, Shri R. K. Dutta who was the H.O.D then took additional charge  as vice principal (regular courses) until his superannuation period where he retired from service in 2003. Dr. U. Ghosh also retired on the same day along with Shri R. K. Dutta in 2003. This was the year when the Physics department had lost two strong pillars that had been the building blocks of the department. In 2003 on the retirement of Shri R.K.Dutta, Shri D Mukherjee took over as H.O.D. (Physics) as well as Vice Principal (regular courses). Shri S. Lato joined the department immediately after the retirement of Shri R. K. Dutta in 2003 and Shri M .Rynjah joined the department in the vacancy of Dr. U. Ghosh in 2004. In 2005, the demonstrator Shri R. K. Das also retired and Shri A. Dkhar joined the department in 2005 filling in his post, which has been converted into a lecturer post. In 2008, the then H.O.D. (Physics) and Vice-Principal (regular courses), Shri D.Mukherjee, attained his age of superannuation and retired from service after which the senior most lecturer, Smt. E.N. Dkhar took over as H.O.D. from 2008 till date. Shri L. Khongiang later filled in the vacancy of Shri D. Mukherjee. As the higher secondary section is separated from UG courses, another faculty member, Shri K.Nongbri joined the college in 2013 as Assistant Lecturer but left the college to join another College as Assistant Professor in 2015. In view of resignation of Shri. K. Nongbri, the Governing Body of the college appointed two full time Assistant Lecturers, Shri Devan Sunar and Smti. Larikordor Langstieh. As Devan Sunar left shortly to join another profession, Shri. Sylvester Lyngdoh Mawphlang was appointed against the vacancy. At present, the department is functioning smoothly with five full time teachers in the UG level, two teachers in Higher Secondary Level and one lab bearer, Mr. Anil Khannal. The department is managing the classes of the three-year Degree course (Hons. & Pass). With the opening of IGNOU study centre in the college, the faculty members of the department are very much involved as counselors for Bachelor Degree Programme for B.Sc.

NameEducational Qualification

Working since


Smt. E. N. Dkhar (Head)M, Sc. 01-09-1994

[email protected]
Shri Snarmon LatoM, Sc. 01-09-2003

[email protected]
Shri Mebanjopson RynjahM, Sc.


[email protected]
Shri Aiborlang DkharM, Sc.,NET(JRF)


[email protected]
Shri Longkhraw KhongiangM, Sc.,NET(LS)


[email protected]