For any queries related to Registration or issues for login kindly whatsapp on this Contact No x

WhatsApp Number


For Admission x
College WebMail x


All Departments

After Shillong College was established, the need to introduce Education as one of the subjects and a Department was aptly felt. Initially, part timers like Shri P. Gupta and Shri S Majumder and few others managed the Department successfully during those hard times. It was till the 9th of August 1961 that a regular teacher was appointed, with Shri Nani Gopal Goswami joined as the first regular teacher and continued his service till he expired in the year 1993. Shri. Baidyanath Bhattacharjee joined in 1963, and retired in the early eighties. Dr. (Mrs.) B. Lyndem joined the Department in the year 1964 but on having been appointed in a better assignment in North-Eastern Hill University in 1990, she had to leave the Department. Mrs. O. Kharkongor joined as a Lecturer in the Department in the year 1983, and served as Head of Department from the year 1993 till her retirement on 30th November 2013. Dr (Miss) R. Dkhar joined on the 5th July 1985 and shouldered the responsibility as Head of Department from 2013 to 2019. Dr H. Iangrai joined as Lecturer on 29th October 1991 and also as a Programme Officer of NSS from 1996 and received University NSS Award. In the year 2010, he was appointed as the first State Liaison Officer of NSS in Meghalaya. On 6th October 2015, in addition to the college duties, he was appointed by the Government of Meghalaya as Monitoring Officer for formulation of Education Policy and from 20th January 2016 to 21st October 2019 as Associate Nodal Officer of All India Survey of Higher Education. He has taken the Headship of the Department on the 1st January 2020. Dr (Ms) H. Diengdoh joined the Department in 9th September, 1994. She contributed an article entitled “Women’s Reservation Bill- Some Observations” which was published in a book entitled “Women’s White Canvas – Issues and Challenges” in 2015. In 2022, she has taken the responsibility as the President of Meghalaya College Teacher Association of Shillong College unit. Ms B. M. L. Wanswet helped the Department since 2010 and joined as regular teacher on the 16th December 2014. Ms K G Nengnong joined the Department on the 7th July 2021. It may be placed on record that Ms P. Lyngdoh, M.A. in Education who was also an ex-student of the College has been supporting the Department in times of need. The teachers take extra care and interest to meet the requirements of the students, the wholesome academic environment and in transforming towards a dynamic and effective learning society
The Department has been catering to the needs of the students at the Pre University level and Undergraduate level since its inception and from 1996 both in General and Honours. All the teachers are adequately qualified as per the UGC norms and their appointments, Government’s approved. They are involved conscientiously in scholarly activities and for professional competency, and also for the welfare of the society. The overall performance of the students of the Department has been very satisfactory considering the fact that the Department has been allowing students to take up Honours in the subject with a bare minimum of 45 per cent at the entry level as per the admission criteria of the university. The Department has achieved a pass percentage of 100% in the year 2007, 2008, 2012 and 2014 B.A (Education) Honours Examination conducted by North Eastern Hill University. The Department shall continue to aspire and advance towards better personality development and required educational standards.

NameEducational QualificationWorking sincee-mail
Dr. Hiramon Diengdoh (Head)M.A , B. Ed , Ph. D09-09-1994[email protected]
Smt. Bahun Mery Lang WanswettM.A , NET16-12-2014[email protected]
Smt. Kathleen Giri Nengnong M.A , NET07-07-2021[email protected]
Dr. Lamshailang Gordon BlahMA, NET, B.Ed. (SEDE), Ph.D.07-11-2023[email protected]