For any queries related to Registration or issues for login kindly whatsapp on this Contact No x

WhatsApp Number


For Admission x
College WebMail x


All Departments

The Department of Commerce of Shillong College was established August 1956 with the inception of the college to cater to the need of higher education in the field of Commerce in the North- Eastern region. It’s faculty included (Late) Shri Dhruba Singh Rawat, who eventually became the Principal of Shillong College, Shri Sanat Kumar Roy, who became a full time practicing lawyer, Late S. K. Acharya, founder Principal of Shillong Commerce College, Shri Ananda Mohan Pal, Late Bidhan Chandra Roy, Shri Bikash Roy. After the promotion of (L) Prof. D. S. Rawat, as Principal the senior most faculty member from the Department., Prof. A.M. Paul took over as the Head of the Department and managed it with efficiency and great sense of responsibility till he retired in 1995. With the retirement of Prof (L) A. M. Paul in 1995, Prof. B. Roy a very dynamic and intelligent person took over as the HOD. Under his leadership and guidance the Department ventured into the Management program and started the BBA Course in 2004, and the department got renamed as Department of Commerce and Management. With the retirement of Sir B. Roy in 2004, Prof S. R. Nongkynrih, took over as the HOD, who served to the best of his ability in the interest of the students, the Department and the College till he retired in March, 2015. Following the retirement of Prof. S. R. Nongkynrih, the senior most teacher in the department Prof. K. D. Roy took over as Head of Department. It is noteworthy that Prof. K. D. Roy has served the college as the Vice Principal of Professional Courses from 1st August 2008 to 4th August 2019. At present he is the Vice Principal of the college assuming this responsibility from 5th August 2019. Considering the future plans of the college, Management stream has been segregated from the combined Commerce and Management department and two department have started functioning from June 2015 – one as Department of Commerce and the other as the Department of Management.

We acknowledge our appreciation and credit, salute with respect and gratitude to the pioneers of the Department without whose toil, sweat and labour it would not have been in the present form as it is today. They are: Prof (L) D. S. Rawat, Prof (L) A. M. Paul , Prof (L) B. C. Roy, Prof B. Roy, Prof S. R. Nongkynrih, Prof KD Roy, Prof BK Saha and many others who served the department either as regular teacher(for short period) or as part time teacher.

NameEducational Qualification

Working since


Shri A. Khanduri
M. Com.

04-11-1991[email protected]
Shri Sankar Sarma

M. Com. (GU), LL. B. (GU), Ph.D.05-07-1996[email protected]
Smt. P. Khonglah

P.G.D.M.M.,PGDIBO, M COM, NET01 -07-2008[email protected]
Smt. Camelia Kharsynthiew

M. Com. , NET

04 – 09 - 2015[email protected]
Smti. Karisa Shisha KharkongorMCom, NET20/01/2023[email protected]
Mr. Milan SwettMCom, NET20/01/2023[email protected]